Making the census count for Uenuku, Tamahaki, Tamakana

Kia ora whānau. For the first time, we can identify in the census as Uenuku, Tamahaki and Tamakana. Why is this important? Because for the first time we will be able to get statistical information that is specifically about ourselves and our rohe. This will strengthen our identity, ensure that we have a strong voice, help to develop and grow our whānau and rohe, and strengthen the outcome for our Treaty settlement.

Census information is being delivered to every letterbox. You can do one of two things:

  1. Complete the paper versions of the forms or;
  2. Complete the online form here:
  • When asked if you are descended from Māori, tick YES
  • When asked if you know the name(s) of your iwi / tribe (or tribes), tick YES
  • When asked for the name(s) and region(s) of your iwi / tribe (or tribes) select:
    • Uenuku (Ruapehu, Waimarino)
    • Tamakana (Ruapehu, Waimarino)
    • Tamahaki (Ruapehu, Waimarino)
  • For region / rohe for each of the above, select: RUAPEHU, WAIMARINO
  • If you are completing the form for your children or minors, please do the same on their behalf. Every whānau member counts.
  • You can also identify with your other iwi connections – currently up to 5.

Uenuku Charitable Trust has worked hard to get the names of our three iwi on the 2018 census. Our aim is positive change for the whānau, hapū and iwi of Uenuku, Tamahaki and Tamakana. This work requires demographic and social data specific to our area and iwi. Nationally, Māori make up 14.6 percent of the population. In the Ruapehu rohe, the number is much higher, with nearly 40 percent of the population being Māori. The census drills down into this demographic data. We will be able to get this data broken down into regions and area units, and get important information on:

  • age and gender
  • cultural diversity
  • housing
  • income
  • languages spoken
  • occupation
  • qualifications.

This will help us identify focus areas for development and investment to help us make the changes needed to ensure our families, communities and future generations are healthy, strong and thriving. So remember:

  • Uenuku (Ruapehu, Waimarino)
  • Tamakana (Ruapehu, Waimarino)
  • Tamahaki (Ruapehu, Waimarino)